Up Close & Professional: Nabilah Jalil (Part 2)

View Part 1 (video interview)

In our recent interview, we had actually taken the opportunity to ask Nabilah, ACCA’s P2 Prize Winner, 7 questions. Here are her answers!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset1. Tell us a bit about yourself.

My name is Nurul Nabilah Abdul Jalil. Age is 21 years old. I came from a small family in Kulai, Johor. I studied in Sekolah Tinggi Kluang (STK) , a co-educational secondary school in Kluang. My family’s background is mostly accounting and business, so that’s where I learned about ACCA and how I decided to further my education after SPM in UiTM Shah Alam.


2. What are your top 3 studying strategies?

One of them is ironically to make a strategy. I plan out my schedule and set up goals by the end of each month approaching the exam. Have your own KPI. The objective is to be consistent and start out your learning process early so you would have enough time to practice afterwards.

Secondly, make an effort.  Know your study syllabus/study guide and read all the topics in your study material. It may sound burdensome, but if you attend the class and participate in the lesson, and ask your lecturers, you would have actually gained more than 50% of the knowledge in the chapter. So what’s left for you to explore is to pick up the remaining 25% to 50% from your textbook and add them in your notes. When you know the scope, you will feel more confident in answering exam questions.

Last but not least is to practise, practise and practise! I used to disregard the importance of doing past-year questions, because I thought having a thorough understanding on the subject alone will be enough. I see a tremendous change when I do past years and when I didn’t do past years (during my fundamental level), so I would really suggest you to attempt all of the the past-year questions, and learn from them. Understand why the answer is that way and do not memorize. Get to know your examiner’s style in terms of what do they actually look for in students’ answers, so you would have the idea on how to tackle a certain questions.

3.What’s your advice for both P2 and F7?

Standards (IFRS/IAS) have to be at your finger tips. Find the rationale behind every standard, you will feel impressed if you discover that and it will make you feel easier to remember. It is okay if you can’t do it by yourself, therefore make a study group, discuss with your friends or seek lecturers. The key is to have the right principles/concepts,  so when you do financial statements, it’ll be easier and interesting.

Important that you make your own notes. Make complete, organized notes! If you discover later that you missed out some important points (especially when doing past years questions), add them in the notes. So these perfect notes will be the one and only material you would refer to, every time.  This may include your lecturer’s notes, your own notes and articles published by ACCA.

So what I did, every time I did a mistake when attempting past year Qs, I cherished it.

One thing I discovered when doing F7 or P2, we tend to do the same mistake in answering the question. So what I did, every time I did a mistake when attempting past year Qs, I cherished it. Don’t crumple the paper and toss it in the bin or ask your friend for ‘liquid’ (correction liquid) to hide the mistake done. Circle it with a red pen and give a comment why did you do this mistake. That’s what I did. Try to reason why did I go wrong.  Was it because I had the wrong concept/principle? Or was I simply careless? Either way I added these to my ‘perfect notes’ so I’ll remember not to do the same mistake again.

4. What motivates you the most?

My family. They are the reason I’m so strong and determined today. We had some financial difficulties during my early studies and I was struggling a lot to excel in my studies as well as to help my family. So these difficulties really pushed me to do my best. It taught me not to take things for granted and appreciate everyone (family, lecturers & friends) around me that was there to help and support me. Whenever I feel depressed and whenever I lose motivation in what I do, I would read the Qur`an and recite the beautiful words from Allah so that I will feel hopeful again and not give up because Allah is with me and I’m not alone.

5.What are you passionate about (hobbies)?

I like writing. Be it through blogs, twitter or private journal.  I also love spending time with my family.  And playing Sudoku. I think I will challenge myself to register for the ‘World Sudoku Championship’ one day. Or maybe not.

6. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I would love to have the opportunity to work in a company where there is a career growth and can provide me the channel to utilize my core skills as well as to learn. Hopefully in 5 years I’ll become a Certified Chartered Accountant.

7. Any final tips/advice you’d like to share?

Be sincere in your studies. Cultivate the passion for the knowledge you’re learning, eradicate the mentality of receiving knowledge just for the sake of passing the exam. Islam, our religion teaches us to seek knowledge and practise/apply it. When you feel sincere in your heart, and ask Allah for his guidance and blessings, in shaa Allah you will succeed in whatever you do. If you don’t feel the success you want in this world, there’s a better reward awaiting you in the Akhirah.  Put faith in Allah because He’s always there for you. So, don’t ever give up.

I used to keep all questions I had in my mind while in the class until I saw this one friend of mine, she was very courageous to ask anything and it inspired me to do the same

Real tips I’d like to advise especially my 14 friends (ACCA friends), don’t feel ashamed to ask in the class. I used to keep all questions I had in my mind while in the class until I saw this one friend of mine, she was very courageous to ask anything and it inspired me to do the same. I was very shy at first and I still remembered the first time I asked, I was trembling so hard as I saw 22 pairs of eyes staring at me. It will take time for you to feel less nervous and eventually, you will surpass it and feel more comfortable to ask the next time. It will not only benefit you, it will benefit the whole class as well as indirectly, you would motivate the lecturer to give out more of the knowledge that he/she has. It makes the whole lesson more enjoyable. All the best!

Interview conducted by Nur Hazlizan Hazliman & Athirah Liyana

Leave a comment